This setting determines whether students are able to enroll themselves using the default interactive enrollment plugin (e.g. Internal enrollment) for the course, or whether they obtain the message "This course is not enrollable at the moment."

This setting has no effect on non-interactive enrollment plugins (e.g. External database enrollment). Also, users can always be assigned the role of student via the Assign roles link in the course administration block.

Index of all help files